Allahabad University

Home > Allahabad University

The University of Allahabad or casually called, Allahabad University is a government Union University (public central university) located in Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh, India. It was established on 23rd September 1887. Originated from Muir Central College it has been named after Lt. Governor Sir William Muir of North-Western Provinces, in 1876. It was his proposition to set up a Central University at Allahabad. It is known to be the fourth oldest university in India, which with time developed into today’s university. Once upon a time it was also known as the “Oxford of the East."  The Parliament of India on 24th June 2005 reinstated its status as Central University through the 'University Allahabad Act, 2005.’


The then Governor-General of India, Lord Northbrook, laid the foundation stone of the Muir Central College, on 9 December 1873. It was christened after Sir William Muir, Lt. Governor of United Province, who was the man responsible for its foundation. William Emerson, well known for Indo-Saracenic, Egyptian and Gothic styles, had designed the university building; His designs were eminent. Victoria Memorial in Kolkata and Crawford Market, in Mumbai are his noted designs.

Earlier, the college operated under the University of Calcutta but ever since the University of Allahabad was established on 23rd September 1887 the fourth modern university of India came into being.

The University of Allahabad started with the secondary education responsibility, affiliating and examining body for graduate and postgraduate level degrees with a traditional orientation. It then also instituted doctoral research programs and developed its own teaching departments by 1904. In 1912 Lieutenant-Governor, Sir John Hewett opened the University Senate hall. With the annunciation of the 'Allahabad University Act of 1921', the Muir Central College merged with the university in 1921, later it was restructured as a unitary teaching and residential university. For a few years colleges affiliated to it were transferred to Agra University and the secondary-level examinations were repositioned.

Maintaining its basic unitary character the university, in 1951, recognized some local institutions as Associated Colleges and under the faculties of Science, Arts, Commerce and Law permitted them to teach undergraduate level courses.

The University boasts to have a multitude of politicians and statesmen including a president and two vice-presidents of India, two former prime ministers, many a union and state ministers, four chief justices of the Supreme Court, leaving aside a large number of senior bureaucrats, on its rolls.

Considering its commendable achievements and position among the universities of Uttar Pradesh the state government, in July 1992, granted it formal recognition, as a ‘Premier Institution’ (Vishesh Agrani Sanstha,)

The University completed its glorious one hundred years of establishment in the year 1987. During the centenary celebrations of the university the students, faculty, and employees unanimously demanded for "Central status."  The government of India did assent to the people’s demand after a prolonged campaign. A bill was produced in the parliament in December 2004 to recognize the University of Allahabad as an ‘Institution of National Importance’ to reinstate the central character. Both Houses of the Parliament agreed to pass the bill called “The University of Allahabad Act, 2005" 

The President of India consented to the bill on 23 June 2005 and once again the university was declared an 'Institution of National Importance.'  On 11 July 2005 the government of India issued the gazette notification, and on 14 July 2005 the university started acting as a Central University.

ccording to the University of Allahabad Act, 2005 the following were to be regarded as the Constituent Colleges of the university:

  • Five faculties of Science, Medicine, Arts, Commerce and Law
  • Three university institutes —the Institute of Professional Studies, the Institute of Inter-Disciplinary Studies, and the National Centre of Experimental Mineralogy and Petrology) and one autonomous university Centre of Behavioural and Cognitive Sciences
  • One university college: the Swarup Rani Nehru Hospital and the Motilal Nehru Medical College, , Allahabad
  • Three constituent institutes: the Harish Chandra Research Institute of Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Allahabad, the Govind Ballabh Pant Social Science Institute, Allahabad and the Kamla Nehru Post-graduate Medical Institute, Allahabad,
  • Eleven other local institutions.

Academic Departments

Listed below are the different academic departments offering degrees and performing research at the Allahabad University.

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Science
  • Permanent faculty positions under tenth plan of UGC for courses running under projects/self finance mode
  • Permanent faculty positions under eleventh plan of UGC
  • Independent centre
  • Arts Faculty Courses
  • Institute of Professional Studies
  • Institute of Inter-disciplinary Studies
  • Purely Project Funded Centre