High Court Of Allahabad

Home > High Court Of Allahabad

High court of Judicature or the Allahabad high court in the city is having a jurisdiction since 1950 over the state of Uttar Pradesh. It has the credit of being one of the earliest high courts that were set up in India.

The initial formation of this high court was as the High Court of Judicature for the provinces of North West in Agra in the year 1866 on 17th March, under the Indian High Courts Act of 1861, which by law replaced the Sadr Diwani Adalat. The first Chief Justice of the High Court for the province was Sir Walter Morgan, who was a Barrister-at Law.

In the year 1869, the high court was shifted from Agra to Allahabad and thereby the name was altered to High Court of Judicature since march 11th 1919.

In the year 1925 on November 2nd, Lucknow Oudh Chief Court replaced the Judicial Commissioner’s court at Oudh as per the 1925 act of Oudh Civil Courts and this was formulated by the legislature of United Provinces by the approval of the Governor General.

The Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh undertook a resolution for the governor where there was the mention of amalgamation of the Oudh Chief Court and Allahabad high Court of Judicature by the ruling of the Governor General. As a result of such a request, the Allahabad High Court and Chief Court of Oudh were made into one.

When Uttaranchal was formulated in 2000 from the state of Uttar Pradesh, this high court then didn’t have anymore jurisdiction on areas which went into Uttaranchal. Originally the high court at Allahabad was constructed by Khan Saheb Nizamuddin who belonged to Loha Mundi in Agra. The fountain of water was donated by him which is present in the high court premises.

The Seat and Benches

The highest court seat is in city of Allahabad while the permanent bench is in Lucknow. The bench comprises of 3 ex-officio jurists who are highly qualified. The total number of judges sanctioned to be in the high court is 160, which is also the highest number in India.

Location Of Allahabad High Court

Former Chief Justices

# Chief Justice Term
1 Walter Morgan 1866–1871
2 Robert Stuart 1871–1884
3 William Comer 1884–1886
4 John Edge 1886–1898
5 Louis Addin Kershaw 1898
6 Arthur Strachey 1898–1901
7 John Stanley 1901–1911
8 Henry Richards 1911–1919
9 Edward Grimwood 1919–1932
10 Shah Muhammad Sulaiman 1932–1937
11 John Gibb Thom 1937–1941
12 Iqbal Ahmad 1941–1946
13 Kamala Kanta Verma 1946–1947
14 Bidhu Bhushan Malik 1947–1955
15 O.H. Mootham 1955–1961
16 Manulal Chunilal Desai 1961–1966
17 Vashishtha Bhargava 25 February 1966–7 August 1966
18 Nasirullah Beg 1966–1967
19 Vidyadhar Govind 1967–1971
20 Shashi Kanta Verma 1971–1973
21 Dhatri Saran Mathur 1973–1974
22 Kunwar Bahadur Asthana 1974–1977
23 D.M. Chandrashekhar 1977–1978
24 Satish Chandra 1978–1983
25 Mahesh Narain Shukla 1983–1985
26 Hriday Nath Seth 1986
27 Kalmanje Jagannatha Shetty 1986–1987
28 Dwarka Nath Jha 1987
29 Amitav Banerji 1987–1988
30 Brahma Nath Katju 1988–1989
31 B. P. Jeevan Reddy 1990–1991
32 M. K. Mukherjee 1991–1993
33 S. S. Sodhi 1994–1995
34 A. Lakshman Rao 1995–1996
35 D. P. Mohapatra 1996–1998
36 N. K. Mitra 1999–2000
37 Shyamal Kumar Sen 8 May 2000–24 November 2002
38 Tarun Chatterjee 31 January 2003–26 August 2004
39 Ajoy Nath Ray 11 January 2005–26 January 2007
40 Hemant Laxman Gokhale 7 March 2007–8 March 2009
41 Chandramauli Kumar Prasad 20 March 2009–7 February 2010
Acting Amitava Lala 8 February 2010-25 June 2010
42 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Ferdino Inacio Rebello 26 June 2010-30 July 2011
Acting Amitava Lala 31 July 2011-4 August 2011